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Abstract: We propose a class of chess variants, Multimove Chess (i, j), in which White gets i moves per turn and
Black gets j moves per turn. One side is said to win when it takes the opponent’s king. All other rules of chess apply.
We prove that if (i, j) is not (1, 1) or (2, 2), and if i ≥ min( j, 4), then White always has a winning strategy, and if
i < min( j, 4), Black always has a winning strategy.
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1. Introduction

Chess has driven substantial research in discrete mathematics.
Numerous lay periodicals publish mate-in-k-moves puzzles, but
much chess research is more sophisticated. The n-queens prob-
lem is a classic: place n queens on an n × n chessboard such
that none attack each other. This problem has been generalized
to d-dimensional chessboards [1]. In Ref. [5] the authors find an
upper bound on the minimum number of queens required to in-
habit or attack every square on an n × n board. The knight’s tour
problem is also famous: how many ways can a knight visit every
square on a chess board exactly once? The answer was found by
Ref. [6] and has been adapted to various modified chess boards,
listed in and added to by Ref. [2]. Rook polynomials count the
number of ways that k rooks can be placed on a subset of the
chess board with none attacking each other, and they are related
to the Laguerre orthogonal polynomials [4]. In Ref. [3], the au-
thor discusses old and new enumerative chess problems, in which
one counts the solutions to a chess problem that can be solved in
more than one way.

Chess has also influenced much academic research in artificial
intelligence. Now computers can beat anyone in chess by brute
force [7], and can even play perfect checkers [7]. However, no
perfect chess algorithm has ever been found, and finding one is a
longstanding open problem.

Chess variants are as old as the game itself, and a number are
listed in Refs. [9] and [8]. We propose algorithms for playing
certain variants that are guaranteed to win regardless of their op-
ponents’ strategies.

We introduce a class of chess variants, “Multimove Chess
(i, j).” For a given (i, j) pair, Multimove Chess (i, j) is a game
with exactly the same rules as standard chess except that White
gets i moves per turn and Black gets j moves per turn. We say
that the game is won when one side takes the other’s king. With
the exceptions of (1, 1) and (2, 2), we prove that Multimove Chess
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(i, j) can always be won by White or by Black (no stalemates oc-
cur). (1, 1) is regular chess, and we conjecture that (2, 2) is a
first player game (i.e., it can always be won by White), and that
this hypothesis can be proven by a computer. The following table
summarizes our findings; “White” means that White can always
win for a given (i, j), “Black” means that Black can always win
for a given (i, j), and a “?” denotes an open problem.

Black/White j = 1 j = 2 j = 3 j = 4 j > 4

i = 1 ? Black Black Black Black

i = 2 White ? Black Black Black

i = 3 White White White Black Black

i = 4 White White White White White

i > 4 White White White White White

Theorem 1. If (i, j) � (1, 1) and (i, j) � (2, 2), and if i ≥
min( j, 4), Multimove Chess (i, j) can always be won by White.

If i < min( j, 4), it can always be won by Black.

Proof. Combine lemmas 2-10 from Section 2. �

2. Proofs

We say that “(i, j) is White” or “(i, j) is Black” if White or
Black has a strategy that is guaranteed to win at Multimove Chess
(i, j). We recommend reading this section using a chessboard
with labeled rows and columns.
Lemma 2. (2,1) is White.

Proof. White moves the b1 knight to a3 and then to b5. Then
Black makes any move. Then the White knight moves b5-c7 and
then to e8 for checkmate. �
Lemma 3. (3,1) is White.

Proof. White moves the b1 knight to a3 and then to b5, and
pushes the pawn at h2. Black again can make any move. The
White knight moves b5-c7-e8 for checkmate. �
Lemma 4. (3,2) is White.

Proof. White moves the knight b1-c3, the pawn e2-e3, and the
queen d1-f3. The White knight at c3 can take the Black king in
three moves, by moving to d5, then to c7, then to e8. There is
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no way for Black to capture the c3 knight, so it must move the
king. It can do so by advancing any of the d7, e7, or f7 pawns
one or two spaces and then moving the king to d7, e7, or f7 (re-
spectively). In any of these situations the White queen at f3 can
capture the Black king in two moves. �
Lemma 5. (3,3) is White.

Proof. We claim if White’s first turn consists of the three moves:
pawn e2-e3, queen d1-f3 and knight b1-c3, that White may take
Black’s king on the following turn. Note that in this position,
Black cannot take White’s king in three moves. The White knight
at c3 can reach e8 in three moves (for example c3-d5-f6-e8), and
therefore on Black’s first turn it must capture the White knight or
move its king so that it is not captured at e8.

Black can only capture the knight using at least three moves,
either with (i) the b7 or d7 pawn (b7-b5-b4-c3 or d7-d5-d4-c3),
(ii) the bishop at f8 (push g7 pawn and f8-g7-c3 or push e7 pawn
and f8-b4-c3), (iii) the queen (push e7 pawn and d8-f6-c3 or push
c7 pawn and d8-a5-c3), or (iv) the knight at g8 (for example g8-
f6-e4-c3). In all cases, the White queen has not been taken nor
has the f7 pawn been moved, and hence the queen can move f3-
f7-e8 to capture the king. Therefore, Black must move its king.

Assuming Black does not take the White knight, there are only
two positions that Black’s king can reach in three moves that can-
not be taken by the White knight at c3 on the following turn: d8
and f8. If the Black king moves to d8, one of the Black pawns in
columns c, d, or e must be pushed, and the Black queen and then
king moved. In any of these cases, the White queen may move
f3-f6-e7-d8, taking the king. In the similar case of f8, either the
Black e7 or g7 pawn must be pushed, and the Black bishop and
then king moved. The White queen moves f3-f7-f8 to take the
Black king. �
Lemma 6. (i, j) where i ≥ 4 and j ≥ 1 is White.

Proof. The trick is that if White is given 4 moves before Black
is given a single move, White can win. Move the White knight
b1-a3-b5-c7-e8 to take the Black king. �
Lemma 7. (1,2) is Black.

Proof. White has 10 initial pieces it can move: 8 pawns and 2
knights. We discuss these cases separately; (A) pawns at a2, b2,
c2, g2, h2 or knight at b1, (B) pawn at f2 or knight at g1, (C)
pawn at d2, and (D) pawn at e2.

(A) In any of these cases e5 is not being attacked by White
after its first move. Black’s first move is knight b8-c6-e5,
now able to take the king on its next turn. White is incapable
of moving the king, nor may it take the knight at e5, and
hence Black must win.
(B) In both cases, White is not attacking b4, and therefore
Black moves its knight b8-c6-b4. Regardless of what White
does, Black may take the king on the following turn with
either b4-d3-e1 or b4-d3-f2.
(C) Black pushes the c7 pawn and moves its queen d8-a5.
White may not move its king to avoid capture and only has
one move with which to block, which is insufficient as Black
has two moves, taking the blocking piece at b4, c3, or d2,
and then taking the king at e1.
(D) In the case in which White pushes its e2 pawn 1 or 2
spaces, Black responds by moving its knight b8-c6-e5. On

Black’s next turn, Black may take the king at e1, and there-
fore White is forced to move its king e1-e2, since it may not
take the Black knight. Black responds by pushing its pawn
d7-d6 and moves its bishop c8-g4. Regardless of White’s
next move, Black may take the king on its following turn
using the knight at e5 for spaces d3, e3, f3, e1 or bishop at
g4 for e2. Note that neither the g4 bishop nor the e5 knight
may be taken by White in one move, nor does blocking the
g4 bishop matter since it is distance 2 from e2, moving g4-
f3-e2.

�
Lemma 8. (1,3) is Black.

Proof. Regardless of White’s first move, on Black’s first turn
it moves its knights b8-c6 and g8-f6, and its a7 pawn to a6. In
three moves, any of the spaces in the box defined by: c1-3, d1-3,
e1-3, f1-3, g1-3 can be taken by a Black knight. In two moves,
White’s king may not escape the above box, nor may it take either
knight. �
Lemma 9. (2,3) is Black.

Proof. The strategy is to usually use the following standard
opening for Black: pawn e7-e6, queen d8-f6, knight b8-c6. How-
ever, Black will use a specialized opening if White’s first two
move sequence is part of a four-move sequence that can take the
Black king, given that Black uses the standard opening ((A2),
(B2), (B3), (C)), or in situations in which the standard opening
is inefficient ((A1), (B1)). Those two-move sequences for White
are: (A1) knight from b1 to a4, (A2) knight from b1 to b5, c4,
d5, or e4, (B) push the e2 pawn and move the White queen to f3
(B1), g4 (B2), or h5 (B3), and (C) push the c2 pawn one space
and move the White queen to b3. We will demonstrate that Black
can win in all of these situations:

(A1) and (A2) Black takes the White knight with two moves
of a pawn, and then moves its knight b8-c6. In three moves,
this knight can take the White king, regardless of the Black
pawn structure. White cannot take the Black knight, it must
move its king. The only three places to which the White king
can move are d7, e7, and f7. In any of these cases, the Black
knight can take the White king in three moves, without ever
using a4, b5, c4, d5, or e4, where there may be a Black pawn.
(B1) Black pushes its pawn e7-e5, pushes its queen from d8-
f6, and knight from b8-c6. Note that from this position, the
Black knight at c6 may capture the White king at e1 in three
moves. White must take the knight or move its king to avoid
a loss.
Assume White takes the Black knight. If White uses its
queen to take both the Black queen and knight, Black may
take White’s king by bishop f8-b4-d2-e1. If White takes the
knight at c6 with its queen (f3-c6) or bishop (f1-b5-c6), and
either leaves the king where it is or moves its king to either
d1 or e2, we can always take the White king with the Black
queen, even if White can use a move to block the f column.
If White does not take the Black knight at c6, it must move its
king to escape the Black knight. The White king can move
to e2, e3 (provided the initial e2 pawn was pushed to e4),
d1, d2 (if the d2 pawn is moved), d3, and f1 (if the bishop is
moved). If the king takes two moves and goes to e3 or d3,
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it can be captured by the Black queen. If it moves to d2 or
e2, it can be captured by the Black knight. If Black moves
the bishop so that the king may move to f1, the Black queen
takes the White king. So Black must move its king to d1. If
White then moves its queen to f6, its king will be taken by
the c8 bishop via pawn to d6 and bishop c8-g4-d1. If White
moves its king to d1 and its queen to somewhere other than
f6, Black moves the queen from f6 to f3 to d1, possibly stop-
ping to take the White queen. Now we assume the king has
been moved to d1 and the White queen is not moved. In this
case, Black takes the White queen at f3 with its own queen
at f6 and then takes the king, possibly stopping at e2 to take
a piece.
(B2) Black uses its knight to capture White’s queen: g8-f6-
g4 and moves its second knight b8-c6. Either knight can
capture the king at e1 in three moves, and it is impossible to
capture both knights in two moves as each knight requires
two moves by White to be captured; therefore the king must
move. In two moves, on its second turn, White’s king can
only reach d1-3, e1-3, f1-3; the combination of knights can
reach all of those positions, and neither can be taken pro-
vided the king has used a move since they each require two
moves from White to be captured. Black takes the king.
(B3) Black pushes the pawn g7-g6 to block the queen, and
moves both knights b8-c6 and g8-f6. The knight at c6 can
take the king at e1, and therefore the knight must be taken
or the king moved. The knight at c6 may be taken by the
queen h5-(b5,c5,d5)-c6 or by the bishop f1-b5-c6. In either
case, Black takes the queen or bishop at c6 with the pawn at
d7-c6, then the queen moves d8-d2-e1 to take the king. If the
White king tries to move, it is impossible for it to escape the
range of both Black knights, neither of which can be taken,
so Black wins.
(C) On its first turn, Black moves a pawn d7-d5, moves the
queen d8-d6 and moves a knight b8-c6. The knight can take
the White king in three moves, so White must either take the
knight or move its king. The only way White can take the
Black knight is using two moves of its queen, allowing the
Black queen to take the White king on the next turn. If in-
stead White moves its king, the Black queen can take it at
d2, e2, and f2 (if the relevant pawns are moved) and at c2. If
the White king moves to d1, it can use its remaining move to
try to defend itself from the Black queen by moving a pawn.
It is to no avail. The Black queen or the Black bishop at c8
will still take the White king (the bishop is used if the White
e2 pawn is pushed).

Now we assume that Black uses the opening pawn e7-e6, queen
d8-f6, knight b8-c6, and that during its first turn White has not
made two moves as enumerated above in (A1-2), (B1-3), and (C).

Since Black has progressed a knight from b8-c6, and every
situation in which White makes two moves toward a four-mate
move on Black’s standard opening is handled above, on its sec-
ond turn White must capture the Black knight or move its king.
It must use its first turn to prepare, but it may not use the combi-
nations above. If White captures the knight, it does so in three or
four moves using (D) a knight, (E) a bishop, (F) a rook, (G) the

queen, or (H) a pawn. If it uses only three moves, the fourth can
be used to block before Black starts its second turn.

(D) Using the knight at b1 has been covered by (A1-2)
above. Using the White knight at g1 to capture Black’s
knight at c6 takes three moves, leaving White with one ad-
ditional move. For any additional move White makes (with
its pawns or c6 knight), the queen can move from f6 to e1
in three moves and capture the king as White cannot suffi-
ciently block Black’s queen, nor can its king move.
(E) In order for the White bishop to capture the Black knight
at c6, either the e2 or g2 pawns must be pushed, and bishop
moved to b5 or g2 respectively. White can then capture the
knight with the bishop and has one remaining move. White
may move the king to e2 or f1, push its f2 pawn, move its
g1 knight to f3, or block with its c6 bishop or d1 queen. In
all cases the Black queen can still capture the White king in
three moves.
(F) To capture the knight with a rook requires four moves
leaving the queen to effortlessly capture the king via f6-f2-
e1. A pawn must be pushed two, say a2-a4, then rook a1-a3-
c3-c6. The rook at h1 is equivalent.
(G) In order for the White queen to take the knight at c6,
one of the c2, d2, or e2 White pawns must be pushed. In
all of these cases, the queen can take the knight in three
or four moves and may not take Black’s queen. If it takes
four moves, the black queen may move f6-f2-e1 and take
the king. We now only consider those cases where it takes
three moves. They are queen d1-a4-c6 or d1-f3-c6. Going
through f3 is case (B1) above, so we only must consider go-
ing through a4. In this case, White pushes its c2 pawn and
may either block or move the king with its fourth move. If
White moves the king to d1, Black may move its queen f6-
f2-e1-d1 or f6-f3-e2-d1 to take the White king. If White
blocks with its f2 pawn, g1 knight, or queen, the Black queen
can always get to f2 in two moves and take the king on its
third.
(H) White can capture the c6 knight with either the b2 or d2
pawn, say b2-b4-b5-c6. The queen can then capture the king
via f6-f2-e1, possibly stopping to take a piece along the way.
If the White king moves, it is still easily taken by the Black
queen.

We now consider the case in which the Black knight is not
taken, and therefore the White king must move to avoid capture
by the Black knight. The only positions that the king may reach
in two turns (four total moves) that cannot be taken by the knight
at c6 on its next turn (three moves) are d1, e4 or h3, f1, g2, and
g1; we consider these cases separately in (I), (J), (K), (L), and
(M) respectively.

(I) For the White king to move to d1, the White queen must
be moved. To free the queen, either the c2, d2, or e2 pawn
must be moved (cases (i), (ii), (iii), respectively):
(i) Suppose the c2 pawn is pushed. The queen may move
to c2, b3, or a4, and the king moves to d1. The case of the
queen to b3 has been discussed above in (C), so we only
consider a4 and c2. In both cases, consider the attack by
Black f6-f3-e2-d1. White may only block this attack with
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its queen, or by pushing the f2 pawn to f4. In the case of a
block by the queen, by a pawn, or by the g1 knight, Black
may move f6-d4-d2-d1 or f6-f2-e1-d1 and capture the king.
(ii) If the d2 pawn is pushed, the queen may move to d2 if
the pawn is pushed to d3, or d2 or d3 if the pawn is pushed
to d4, and the king moves to d1. White has one additional
move, but Black can move f6-f2-e1-d1 or f6-d4-(d2 or d3)-
d1 and capture the king, unless the White queen is at d2
with a White pawn at d3, and White pushes the f2 pawn.
In that case, the Black queen moves f6-h4-e1-d1 to take the
king.
(iii) If the e2 pawn is pushed, the queen then moves to e2
(we considered the cases of f3, g4, and h5 in (B1-3) respec-
tively above) and the king moves to d1. Consider the attack
by Black’s queen of f6-c3-c2-d1; White has one additional
move to try and block this attack and must place a piece
at either d4 or e5 to do so. The only pieces that can reach
those positions are the d2 or e2 pawns (provided the initial
e2 pawn was pushed to e4). In the case that the pawn is
pushed d2-d4 to block, Black can capture via f6-d4-d1. In
the case that the pawn e4-e5 is pushed, Black can capture
via f6-e5-e2-d1.

(J) If the White king moves to e4 or h3, it must have gotten
there in four moves. In any case the Black queen takes the
exposed White king.
(K) In order for the White king to move to f1, either the e2
or g2 pawn must be pushed, the bishop on f1 moved, and
then the king moved to f1. White has one additional move
available, but none can sufficiently block nor take the Black
queen. The Black queen can take two pieces in the f column
before capturing the king at f1. Before White’s final turn,
there is only a pawn at f2, and with one additional move
White can add at most one piece to the f column.
(L) There is one way in which the White king can get to
g2. It is if both the f2 and g2 pawns are pushed one or two
spaces and the king moves e1-f2-g2. The Black queen can
move f6-f4-f3-g2 to capture the king.
(M) White moves a pawn, its f1 bishop, and its g1 knight,
and castles. Black moves its queen f6-f3-f2-g1 to take the
White king.

�
Lemma 10. (i, j) where i ≤ 3 and j ≥ 4 is Black.

Proof. Note that White cannot take either of Black’s knights nor
Black’s king in its first three moves (if Black has never moved).
In at most four of Black’s moves however, Black can put one of
its knights on any of the squares in the box defined by: c1-3, d1-3,
e1-3, f1-3, g1-3. So after its first three moves, White must make
sure that its king is on none of those squares. This is impossible;
in order for the king to move at all, a pawn must be pushed, giving
the king only two moves - not enough to escape the box. As well,
it would take three moves to prepare for castling (moving a pawn
and then bishop, and knight). So the White king is taken. �
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