Foreword

Special Issue: Selected Papers from SAINT 2002

Yuji Oie†

The Internet still keeps on growing explosively, and the wireless communication has been widely spread. They further accelerate the proliferation of various kinds of appliances connected with the Internet as well as conventional PCs. Moreover, diverse applications have been developed and successfully deployed on the Internet. The Internet now plays an important role of supporting a variety of our social activities.

Considering these features of the Internet, IPSJ and IEEE Computer Society jointly launched a new conference in 2001, whose objective was to bring researchers and practitioners in all areas of Internet technologies and applications for further growth of the Internet. That is SAINT(Symposium on Applications and the Internet), which is jointly sponsored by IPSJ and IEEE Computer Society. In Saint 2002, out of 73 submissions from countries only 28 papers were accepted. SIG on Quality Aware Internet (QAI) of IPSJ served as the designated technical committee for Saint, and made a plan of this special issue to circulate several distinguished papers among ones presented in SAINT 2002. The program committee of SAINT 2002 kindly recommended 6 papers of high quality for this special issue. The committee members of QAI reviewed them carefully, and finally accepted all of them for publication in this issue after some revisions were made if required. The accepted papers deal with a wide range of important topics in the field of applications and Internet technologies.

We would like to express our appreciation to all the authors for their excellent papers, and to the program committee members of SAINT 2002 for their outstanding efforts in recommending them. In addition, please visit the web site (http://www.saint2003.org) on SAINT 2003, and see you in SAINT 2003.

The members of the Guest Editorial Committee are:

- Editor-in-Chief Yuji Oie (Kyushu Institute of Tech.)
- Editor
 Hiroshi Esaki (The Univ. of Tokyo)
 Koji Okamura (Kyushu Univ.)
 Shingo Ichii (The Univ. of Tokyo)
 Kenichi Yoshida (Univ. of Tsukuba)
 Toshihiko Shimokawa (Kyushu Sangyo
 Univ.)

Tadanori Mizuno (Shizuoka Univ.)Yoshiaki Hori (Kyushu Institute of Design)Jun Matsukata (National Institute of Informatics)

Susumu Yoneda (Japan Telecom) Masahiro Jibiki (NEC Corporation) Syoichiro Seno (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)

Fumio Teraoka (Keio Univ.) Yasuo Okabe (Kyoto Univ.)

Shozo Naito (NTT)

Katsushi Kobayashi (Communications Research Laboratory)

Masanobu Yuhara (Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd.)

Katsuyuki Yamazaki (KDDI R&D Laboratories)

Shuichi Tashiro (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)

Takashi Imaizumi (Chiba Univ.) Yasuro Shobatake (Toshiba)

Yasushi Hibino (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)

[†] Kyushu Institute of Technology