*Foreword* 

## Special Issue: Selected Papers from ICMU 2005

## Takashi Watanabe<sup>†</sup>

Ubiquitous networks are expected to be the next generation infrastructure of the future society. To realize the society, a plethora of problems on such technologies should be resolved as applications and services, network management, data management, wireless communications, broadcast communications, security, location based services, ad-hoc and sensor net-ICMU (International Conference on Mobile Computing and Ubiquitous Networking) provides researchers and practitioners in this area with a forum for discussion and collaboration over the technologies sponsored by IPSJ SIG-MBL (Special Interest Group of Mobile Computing and Ubiquitous Networking) and SG-BCC (Study Group of Broadcast Communication and Computing). This conference is also supported by SIG-ITS (Special Interest Group of Intelligent Transport Systems) and SIG-UBI (Ubiquitous Computing System).

ICMU 2005 was successfully held at Osaka University, Japan on April 13 through 15 which received 51 paper submissions from authors spread over 17 countries in the world. 21 carefully reviewed technical papers were selected for the technical sessions. The TPC made a plan of this special issue and forms the Guest Editorial Committee. Out of 21 papers, we finally selected 5 papers based on conference review results. The resubmitted journal papers were carefully reviewed again under the regular IPSJ review process. The accepted papers cover various kinds of important issues for mobile computing and ubiquitous networking. We believe this special issue will significantly benefit our future research.

We are now planning ICMU 2006 (http://www.icmu.org/) which will be held in England. We also believe that this issue encourages authors to submit quality papers to ICMU 2006 conference.

The members of the Guest Editorial Committee are:

- Editor-in-Chief Takashi Watanabe (Shizuoka University)
- Editor

Masaki Bandai (Shizuoka University) Masugi Inoue (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)

Susumu Ishihara (Shizuoka University) Tadanori Mizuno (Shizuoka University) Akihiko Mizutani (IBM Japan)

Ken Ohta (NTT DoCoMo)

Ryouji Ono (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)

Osamu Takahashi (Future University-Hakodate)

Matsuaki Terada (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)

Hirozumi Yamaguchi (Osaka University)

Miki Yamamoto (Kansai University)

Tomoyuki Yashiro (Chiba Institute of Technology)

Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)

Hidetoshi Yokota (KDDI R&D Laboratories)